Classify the northern plains on the basis of its location

Q- Classify the Northern plains on the basis of its location.

Answer- The Northern Plains are classified in three sections on the basis of its location:

1. Punjab Plains:

The Plains which is in western part of the Northern plains. Is formed by the river Indus and its tributaries. This plain lies near the Punjab state of India That is why it is called as Punjab Plains.

2. Ganga Plains: 

The Ganga plains extends between Ghaggar and Teesta rivers. This plain extends over the northern states of Delhi, Haryana, UP, Bihar and other parts of Jharkhand and West Bengal. 

Brahmaputra Plains: 

Brahmaputra plains lie to the east of Ganga plains. These plains cover a large area of Arunachal Pradesh and Assam. 

Leave a Comment