Describe the three parallel ranges of Himalayas

Q- Describe the three parallel ranges of the Himalayas?

Answer- The three parallel ranges of the Himalayas are as follows:

1. Himadri (Great or Inner Himalayas):-

It is the northern most range of Himalayas. It consists of loftiest peaks with an average height of about 6000 metres that too high. This range includes only very high hills. It is most continuous range of Himalayas. These hills are covered with snow throughout the year. It consists all the prominent peaks. 

2. Himachal (Lesser Himalayas):

It lies in the south of the Himadri range of Himalayas. This range consists of Himalayas with a average height neither too long nor short. The hills of this ranges had a average height of about 3700 metres to 4500 metres. Some famous ranges of this range are Pir Panjal range, Dhaula Dhar range and Mahabharat ranges. This range also consists some valleys the most famous valleys of them are Kullu, Kangra and Kashmir. These valleys are known for their hill stations which is a best tourist place. The average width of this range is about 50 Kms.

3. Shiwaliks (Outer Himalayas):

This is the outer most range of Himalayas. It is located in the south of the Himachal. The height of the hills in this range is small. It is about 900 to 1100 metres. These range is composed of unconsolidated rock material, so these ranges are prone to earthquakes and landslides. These longitudinal valleys which lies between lesser Himalayas and Shiwaliks are called as “Duns”. Some of the famous duns are Dehra dubn, Kotli dun and Patli dun.

Leave a Comment